Being Brave…. because I have every reason to

Maybe for you, the start of new adventures is scary.

The questions surround you.
Do I have everything I need? Am I ready for this? What if it turns out horribly? What if I’m all alone? What if this is a mistake?

What if I fail?

A new adventure could be the start of a new school year… the end of school… the start of a new career… the beginning of a trip across the world…

Or just the start of a new day.

Maybe for you, starting the day afresh doesn’t feel so fresh… it’s the same old grind and you feel like you’re simply wandering.

Maybe this struggle is just too scary. How much more can you take?

You wish you could be back in that season where everything felt under control. Well, more under control them this does. You think back to those moments. Those clear, sky blue days.
I can vision it now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I take in big breaths of fresh morning air and lace on my shoes.
Feeling invincible.
Feeling powerful and so connected to the Source of my power.
These days I feel as if I could run marathons… follow the call that Jesus has laid out for me.
Those are the days I label as “perfect” “well done” in my mental photo album.
“Well done….”

But this isn’t most of the time. Those “mountaintop” experiences are what we always label as the good times. The times when we felt closest to Jesus. When we feel we’ve finally got it right.

But what about those other times?

When you feel as if you’re walking through the valley of dark. Darkness all around. Uncertainty and confusion.

And you don’t feel good.
You don’t necessarily feel close to Jesus.

When I’m in this place, all I want to do is run out of the valley and hide in the safety of His arms.

And from the valley, this new adventure, this new day, this old struggle. Boy – it seems pretty impossible. How can I overcome these fears?
Struggles?

I feel so alone in this.

images

I don’t feel like I can do it.
I’m afraid and am so overwhelmed by the waves of doubt and condemnation and fear that are crashing over me.

But Jesus says this:
“And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” 1 Cor 10:13

He will provide.

PROVIDE.

He will provide the strength and ability to make it through the tough days… the new adventure… the same old grind.

So if that wall in front of you looks impossible to climb… so high that you have to crane your neck to see the top, it’s ok.
It’s ok.

Because you just have to look right in front of you to see Jesus holding out his arms.

He’s ready for you to run into them.

“Come to me, all who are weary, and I will give you rest.” Matt 11:28

We can rest and seek refuge in Him. Refuge from the worries and fears. Peace from the storm.

And in Him, we find we have ALL we need.

There is no lack in Him.

None.

So, you can face this new day. You can take on this new adventure. You can trust Him in this.

Because He is God and He is faithful. He is ABBA father, Daddy.

You can be Brave. Because you have all the reason in the world to be. Every reason.
He will never let you go and He has a purpose for your life. His awe-striking power is unfolding in your life and He is using you to bring His pure freedom and Truth and restoration power to this dying earth.

He is using you.

So step out in faith and be brave.


Joshua 1:9

2 thoughts on “Being Brave…. because I have every reason to

Leave a Reply

