You have the Mind of Christ.

Mind of Christ.

What does that even mean? It seems foreign, and kind of a wierd thing to think about. But really, it is so essential.

I’ve wanted to write about this for a long time – what it means to have the mind of Christ and how it affects you and me.

So here ‘goes. I’m going to attempt to represent the Truth of this because I believe that it is so essential to how we live. It changes everything.

Knowing that you have the mind of Christ and living it out changes how we view ourselves, the people around us, how we respond in any situation, and how we respond to our Father’s call.

Maybe it’s because this is such an essential topic that I’ve hesitated to write about it. I feel inadequate to undertake such a task… feeling that I first need to master this subject and get my thoughts and heart right before I can begin writing about it. But God gives us the words and the wisdom when we look into His word.

I need to declare this over my life and I hope and believe it will bring so much life and refreshment to us. We need a reminder of the Truth that was already purchased for us and is available for us at every moment. We just have to choose it.

Ok. Big breath. Here I go. Jesus please lead me and help me portray your heart on this.

So, the basic and very simple truth upon which everything else stands is this:

“We have the mind of Christ.” 1 Corinthinas 2:16

Simple, huh? We can all read that sentence in 2 seconds. In our busy lives, it’s hard even to take the time to read this long blog post 🙂 so we often skim over things that are short and seem trite. But I think that verse is the smallest from being insignificant or trite.

Go back and read it again. Slowly. What does is really mean?

Why is is so important?

Why did Jesus take the time to tell us this?

“We have the mind of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 2:16

Someone could probably write thousands upon thousands of pages on what this means. All of the connotations and representations and hidden meanings. As a result, it’s a little overwhelming to me to try and unpack what this means… so I’m going to just write a few things that God has shown me through this verse in my next couple blog entries.

Here’s my thought for tonight:

So often I feel dragged down by my own thoughts and desires and get frustrated with where my mind wanders.

We’ve all heard that our minds are a battlefield. images

Yup. That’s going on inside your head. Scary huh? We don’t really realize the battle sometimes, I think.

Ephesians 6:12 says “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

So it’s real. And if all of that is happening inside my mind, boy, would I rather not have my own mind… but the mind of Christ. The mind of the one who is the conqueror – who defeated the grave and is righteous, pure, just, noble, upright.

Everyday we wake up and enter this battle. We have to choose to put on the armour of God and then shielded by our Father, we wield the sword of the Spirit and shield of faith and attack the enemy’s lies. But sometimes, it feels as if we’re always losing that battle in our minds. That no matter how hard we try, it is useless. And then we just give up.

The enemy whispers in our ear that we can’t do it. It’s not worth it. We’re weak. We can’t control our thoughts or our actions.

But those are ALL lies.

Romans 8:6 says that “the mind of the sinful man is death but the mind controlled by the Spirit is LIFE and PEACE.”

Life and peace are quite the opposite of all those lies that come at you.

So, the Truth is that you can control your thoughts and your actions. Because you have the mind of the one who is Pure and Righteous and wants to bestow upon you life and peace. If you are feeling a lack of this, maybe it’s because you haven’t taken the authority which belongs to you. The authority that Jesus gave to you when He renewed your mind so that you can fix your thoughts on Him alone.

So if they enemy is taunting you and you feel as if you can’t control things or you are always losing, take back what you have lost from the enemy’s camp. It doesn’t belong there.

Stand up and declare this Truth over you life.

“I am a child of the One True King who has renewed and transformed me into His likeness. I am not afraid and will no longer live in fear. I will fix my eyes and my thoughts on Him above. The battle has not been lost. He is in control. I can control my thoughts. Lord, fill my mind with you and your peace. I have the mind of Christ.”

I can tell you this Truth of which you can be certain:

“Submit yourselves to God then. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you.” James 4:7

When you resist the devil and those thoughts, he has to flee. He has no other choice before the great name of our Lord and Father.

Jesus wants to bring peace and life to your mind and you life. He does this by renewing your mind and giving you His mind – His thoughts, His passions, His desires, His Truths.

All you need to do is ask Him to renew your mind and show you that you do have the mind of Christ.

It’s available. Right here, right now! Peace and life. That’s what I want my life to embody. His peace and life!

May we all learn to live so dependent on His word that we can’t help but share this love story with all those we meet!

Blessings dear friends. ❤ Bekah

Leave a Reply

