She Walks in Freedom

Hello again.

So, yes, it’s been a while. And no, I’m not going to be one of those people that has this simply brilliant (or what I think is brilliant ๐Ÿ™‚ ) idea to start a blog, write on it once, and then never look at it again. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t written for so long because I was finishing up school and then also thinking… thinking and praying about the direction I wanted to go with this… the direction that God wanted to go with this…

I think the title of this post and now the title of the blog gives a good 4 word summary of what this blog is going to be focused on. Women walking in the Freedom that God has already given us. There are so many things that we as women face today… and one thing that has really affected me and has been on my heart is the issue of self-image. I have really struggled with this and it’s been quite a journey of seeking God… and by no means is that journey over… I don’t know if it ever will be, but I do believe God is healing my heart and mind to desire Him first and seek His approval above the world’s. At least, I’m truly praying I can one day start to slip my fingers over the pages of that chapter of my life… the chapter where I can say that I’m confident in how God has formed me and made me. Sometimes it seems like I’ll never get there…

This is another reason why it’s taken me so long to write another post. I’m like, “Ok, God. I still majorly struggle with this. Some days I feel like I’m flying high and everything’s great and I’ve finally conquered it… and then come the days where the mirror tells me otherwise and I feel so so low… It’s like a big cycle. So God, how can I even think to start writing about it and trying to encourage other women and girls about this when I myself feel so confused and continue to struggle with the issue of self-image? I feel super unqualified…” But I felt like God told me to just start writing and as I ย seek Him and His Truth and write about His Truth, then I will be thinking Truth and speaking Truth and… that’s something right?

No, that’s everything!!!!!! We have to fix our eyes on the Truth for that is the ONLY place where we will get FREEDOM. Gosh, I have to keep reminding myself this.

Today, I want to stand strong and say… no… SHOUT, that my weight and my appearance doesn’t define who I am. Because I already am defined – not by this world or by temporary things – but by my Father who says that I am his beautiful daughter. THIS is what I want to live for, and am praying that God would help me desire this above all else. He says that those who seek Him will find Him and if we really seek Him on this and give this area of our lives over to our Creator, we will find peace and freedom!! Jesus help us!

So, here marks the beginning of the telling of this story – this journey. This journey of walking more and more in the freedom that our Father has already bought for us. Let’s settle for nothing less.

“Therefore, there is now NO condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus, the law of the Spirit of life set me FREE from the law of sin and death… you however, are NOT controlled by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you.” Romans 8:1, 9

We’re not controlled by sin, sisters. WE ARE SET FREE!!!
Let this picture below remind you that you are in you Daddy’s hands. Give it all to Him. He is stronger!
My desire and prayer is that this blog will help women realize that their true identity is in the King and that together, we can seek the life and the calling God has for each one of us!! Hope to hear from you!
Blessings ๐Ÿ™‚
Bekah
Please comment and let me know your thoughts!
(this picture is not my own- it was taken from the internet)
2 thoughts on “She Walks in Freedom

  1. Wow Bekah, this truly hit me hard tonight. I’ve been struggling so much with self-identity since I got home. I feel like I don’t measure up to this expectation of this “perfect christian” in my head, that sometimes I don’t even want to try to seek after Him because I feel like I won’t do a good enough job, or I’m not measuring up. But there is no expectation!! And you’re totally speaking Truth! God loves us as His beautiful daughters and we are saved by His mercy and grace!!

Leave a Reply

